"bringing Traditional music to life with guitar work that rings in the hall like the bells of Rhymney...great fiddle...singing and harmonies filled with subtle voices of the past combined with a sultry presence...a fascinating mix of Celtic, American and English Folk…a great fondness for Pentangle and Bert Jansch. – David Stafford, KKUP

 "one of my favorite Celtic genre-bending local artists" -- Tony Becker, AmeriCeltic 

"I heard Hardly Strictly Trad. for the first time live on KKUP a few weeks ago, and actually pulled over to the side  of the road to listen. Particularly struck by the sound and clarity of the guitar work." -- unsolicited e-mail from staff member, U.C. Santa Cruz

 'Hardly Strictly Trad.' is my acoustic trio of fingerstyle guitar & violin/fiddle, with male and female vocal harmonies applied to mostly Traditional celtic/folk/blues repertoire, plus original instrumentals all infused with a touch of jazz. Featuring English singer Erica Hockett on lead vocals. -- JR

Hear us live -- at KKUP and Red Rock, tracks 7-12 on site player (at bottom). Erica and I joined by guests Nancy Kerr (vocals/woodwinds) and Trevor Lloyd (violin).

Recent/Upcoming:

Thur. Jan. 2, 8pm at Piacere, San Carlos (Hardly Strictly Jazz) 

Fri. Jan. 10, 9pm at Plough&Stars, S.F. by Spirit Vibrations Presents

Fri. Jan. 24, 4pm live on-air at KKUP 91.5 FM

Sat. Jan. 25, 8pm at Red Rock Cafe, Mountain View

Fri. Jan. 31, 7:30pm at Atlas Cafe, S.F. (Hardly Strictly Jazz)

Wed. Feb. 5, 8:00pm at Cigar Bar & Grill, S.F. (Hardly Strictly Jazz)

Sat. Feb. 15, 8:00pm at Caffe Frascati, San Jose

Sat. Feb. 22, 7:30pm at The Monkey House, Berkeley

Sat. March 1, 6:30pm at O'Reilly's Irish Pub, S.F. (accompanying Aine Brolly)

Sun. March 2, 6:30pm at Forest Hill Center for the Fine Arts, S.F.

Mon. March 17, 4pm St. Paddy's at High St. Station, Alameda

Sun. March 30, 11am at Sweetwater Music Hall, Mill Valley

Fri. April 4, 8pm at Pacific Coast Brewing Co., Oakland

Sat. May 24, 7pm at High St. Station, Alameda

Fri. May. 30, 7:30pm at Atlas Cafe, S.F. (Hardly Strictly Jazz)

Tue. June 3, 8pm at The Bistro, Hayward (Hardly Strictly Jazz)

Sat. June 21, 8pm at Red Rock Cafe, Mountain View

Sat. July 12, 11am American Cancer Society benefit, San Carlos

97089 views since Mon, 11 May 2009.
Hardly Strictly Trad.

Promote Your Page Too
Bandvista.com :: Band Website Design Builder